Satellite
Show on map
  • Pola de Lena To Oviedo

    October 4, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    San Salvador Camino Completed!

    The last day of the Camino, and one of the most broootal.

    We were eager to finish off today, so we decided to walk the 34 kilometres to Oviedo. Juan was so eager he woke at 5:00am to get going. I did’t leave until 7:00.

    The first stretch to the town of Mieres, was pretty easy going along pedestrian walkways. I arrived there at 10:00. I thought the rest of the day would be a breeze.

    There are two hills to go up and down to Oviedo. The first is not well marked. I ended up going down a muddy trail into the middle of a forest. Totally lost, and because it was also a misty rainy day, I could not see the sun. I ended up using my phone to navigate out. About 5 to 8 wasted kilometers.

    After surviving this, I found flechas again. Now the only thing between me and Oviedo was one more mountain.

    I arrived in Oviedo at around 5:00 that evening. Juan had arrived only 1 hour sooner.

    After finding a hostel, we went out to drink the local cider to celebrate the end of the San Salvador Camino.

    Tomorrow I will receive my compestela document!
    Read more