Satellite
Show on map
  • "Let's Go Get Our Hair Done" - Alanna

    July 14, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Alanna texted me one day asking if I wanted to have a girl's afternoon and go and get our hair done. She had heard about this new place and they were offering free champagne and a hair do. I told her it sounded like a great idea, so she texted me the address.

    I followed the directions. To a bridal shop, apparently.

    They were hosting some sort of grand opening , and the pink champagne was flowing. There was a photographer, make-up artists, bridal dresses, flowers.... pretty much everything you would need for a wedding.

    To this day, I'm still not sure if Alanna had planned it all along, and I know she'll never tell, but when she walked into the shop a few minutes after I arrived, she simply said, "Oh. I didn't know this was a bridal shop." And she grinned at me.

    And that's the moment I saw the dress. It's ruffled layers stuck out from all the others. It was the most unique dress I had seen, and I had to investigate! I also made a note to come back after the grand opening to try it on (well played, bridal shop, well played).

    When I went back to try it on, it turned out to be the perfect fit, and it was the only one of it's kind in the shop. And in the state of Alaska, apparently. I only made one (huge) mistake... I hadn't looked at the price tag before trying it on. When I finally looked at it, after already mentally purchasing it, I felt like the wind had been knocked out of me.

    We're going to go back to that side note for a minute: What. The. Hell? How much money does everyone think I should be spending on this wedding?? That price tag was crazy huge, and I wasn't about to push myself off that (huge) debt ledge. I seriously didn't know what to do. Everyone kept telling me (all chicks), "Spend it all, honey. You're only getting married once." That really just didn't sound like good advice to me.

    So, I broke down. I turned into Bridezilla and started crying like a baby. At home, of course. For as easy-going as I though this thing was going to be, and since we're a pretty easy-going couple, it just wasn't. It was expensive, and stupid. Weddings were stupid, and I didn't want that stupid wedding dress anyway. I'd get married nekkid. Fuck it.

    And in the middle of my Bridezilla moment, one of our friends messaged me. She had just had her wedding, so I asked about the dress stuff. She gave me the best advice ever. Just Google it.

    And so I did. And I found just one. On the entire internets!! For 1/3 of the price.

    And so I had it mailed all the way up here to Alaska.
    Read more