Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Day 25: Hawaii - Up Before the Sun

    January 16 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    We are at port, Pier 2, in Honolulu, Hawaii. We got to bed early - surprisingly I woke up before the sunrise (7:11 A.M.) and my wake up call 5:45 A.M.) . Here are some early morning pictures from the deck of our floating home.

    How many times have I been working on a car and lost a tool I just had in my hand only to find I was sitting on it? Countless times. Last night I left my computer bag on the glass table - I wasn’t worried - headed down to guest services they had picked it up for me and held it safely. Viking really does cater to those of us who constantly put something down - and forget where we put it. One of the benefits of being on this Viking cruise is Safety. Maslow’s first stage is “Safety” - we are safe here.

    Today, we will do the included excursion - Hawaiian Highlights at 9:30 this morning. Later at 5:00pm we are meeting up with friends of one of my students this evening for dinner at Monkey Pod Kitchen. I hope to have some fun images of our time in Honolulu to share with you.

    The ship is quiet - slowly staff are emerging to start their day’s work. I haven’t seen any other early risers this morning. I have the whole Explorer’s lounge to myself. Calming music is playing over the speakers - I will get a cappuccino and wait for the sun to catch up with me. It’s nice to have the house to myself this morning.
    Read more