Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Day 55: Meet Farid & Tana

    February 15 ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    Please meet Farid (Java, Indonesia) and Tana (Bali, Indonesia). This is Farid’s first Viking contract, and Tana’s third.

    It’s been 408 days since I have done this thing called “work.” I know my peers back at Yale would disagree and say it has been much longer than that. January 2, 2023 was my retirement date. I mention this because … while Donna and I were enjoying burgers and wine on the Pool Deck for lunch I observed Tana was doing his job - it’s called work. Again, haven’t had to do the “w” word in 408 days.

    I am a car guy. We own a 65 MG Midget and 96 Corvette CE LT4. Watching Tana organize and clean the deck chairs with microfiber in hand - Tana had an intensity on his face which reminded me of the same intensity a “car guy/gal” has when the prep their classic for the next upcoming car show.

    They’re deck chairs, not 56 T-Bird.

    It’s this level of detail and pride the crew has in their work no matter what the task. They do it every day, multiple times a day. I waved to Tana and asked if I could take his picture, he brought in his friend Farid for the shot. The comradery and support the crew has for each other is also obvious. Many of you have told me you appreciate the crew vignettes - this just really stood out to me today.

    After lunch and brief chat with Farid & Tana - a quick stop at the Pool Bar to say “Hi” to Beka and Windu (from Bali) and pick up a Myers & Diet Coke for the road (or ocean?).

    After a long Penguin Parade night yesterday today is a nice sea day - Most of the ship slept in this morning and are still thinking about waking up - Donna and I are enjoying a quiet time in the Explorer’s Lounge.

    Of course,there is always afternoon tea at 4:00 PM in the Wintergarden.

    We are just trying to figure out how to do this forever. - Life is good.

    #myVikingJourney #myVikingStory #vikingNeptune
    Read more