Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 88

    Day 88: Langkawi, Malaysia

    March 19 in Malaysia ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Today we docked at Langkawi, Malaysia and the VIking daily describes it as “Malaysia’s stunning archipelago of swaying coconut palms and islands shores fringed by power sand beach’s …”

    They are not wrong … However, today for me personally was getting hit in the face with “Tourism fatigue.”

    I found this definition on Google “Tourism fatigue relates to negative physical and psychological state of tourist caused by excessive tourism activities.”

    Langkawi, Malaysia is yet another really beautiful VERY HOT tropical island. We have been on the Neptune for 88 days now and experienced many beautiful places. If I have to watch another coconut get opened and drink the milk - I just might scream!

    We have a very limited time at each destination and barely have time enough to “enjoy” the tourist places nevertheless get to know the really country we are visiting. I am finding the times we venture off the “planned excursion” path are in “most” cases the most fulfilling. It is the unplanned interactions with locals or other tourists that we will remember.

    Clearly many of these countries major economic income comes from us the tourists. But, I am really getting burnt out visiting “planned” tourists locations that were only built to appease the tourists and generate income. It feels very fake at times.

    Yes, I have “tourism fatigue”. I am venting - I continue to feel very guilty when after 88 days I still have to ask Dennis what his name is. And that I mess up everyone else’s name.

    As I weave through the World Cafe I bump into someone - again. I am truly sorry, I didn’t mean it. Or a took a spoon off of the wrong table.

    Where is my key card? I just had it.

    It is hard to be excited and nice 100% of the time. Honestly, I don’t know how the Neptune staff stays so friendly and upbeat even after 88 days.

    It is hot in Langkawi, Malaysia. Langkawi is a beautiful island one of 99 islands in Malaysia. Honestly after 88 days of totally amazing experiences today this whole trip feels like one big blur. What day is it? What month is it?

    When we made it back to the ship, it was nice to get to the Pool Grill they made me a double Lamb Burger - it was totally luscious. I made it to our table without running into anyone or spilling my drink. Ordered a Rum Punch with Dark Rum - it was so refreshing I ordered another one.

    Waking up after a five hour nap - I see that other folks on Find Penguins have already posted - Donna went for dinner and I stay at the cabin to get this post done. Thank you all for allowing me to vent a bit.

    Is it just me?

    Cruising is hard work.

    Will definitely make it to the Star Theater to watch Joe perform. I love his voice and his pure spirit when he sings.
    Read more