Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    We are in Champagne Heaven

    September 18, 2022 in France ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    After lunch we first went to the tourist office to get some advice on how to best tackle the city. We ended up walking a kilometre up and back Champagne Avenue, chocked full of champagne houses - both big and small. It is a beautiful avenue full of beautiful buildings.

    There are a number of establishments where you can sit and have champagne tastings or a bottle. We decided to go for a tasting, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We even got to meet one of the local champagne producers, Damien Férat. We really enjoyed his champagne, but instead of telling him that I loved his champagne, I told him that I loved him! This gave everyone a bit of a laugh - I think I even blushed! (Ed - it was a Champagne moment!)

    Epernay is a stunning town that is beautifully kept with a wonderful range of grand houses and Chateaux. Can’t wait to explore more tomorrow.
    Read more