Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    London to Brussels

    September 15, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    I had a layover in Singapore and was able to make use of the fabulous QANTAS First Class Lounge - I was able to have a delicious meal, a couple of cocktails and chill till we departed. After a very smooth trip from Singapore to London, in which I was able to get 10 hours sleep as I was upgraded to Business, I arrived early this morning at Heathrow and made my way across to St Pancras to catch the Eurostar to Brussels.

    As a solo traveller I have met and spoken with a broad range of interesting people from all over the place. My neighbour on the plane was Deborah who was off to a knitting convention on Shetland - she was a very interesting woman who has travelled to some wonderful places. Following the knitting convention she is walking around the top end of Scotland for a couple of weeks - sounds like a great experience which I need to add to my bucket list.

    I then met a lovely woman from New York who was travelling with her adult son who had showed her London and was now taking her to Paris for the first time.

    On the train trip to Brussels I sat near a lovely American couple, Stephen and Deborah who are off to Amsterdam.

    It is one of the things I love about travelling, the wonderful people you encounter as you explore this wonderful world.

    My ticket on the Eurostar included a lovely little lunch. I also got to see most of the last quarter of the Melbourne vs Carlton game as there were a group of Aussie lads watching it near me. Made it to Brussels just after 2pm where I then caught a local train out to Ottiginies where Brigitte picked me up and now we are sitting in the garden catching up over a wine. The weather here is great - mid twenties for the next few days.

    After a delicious pasta dish for dinner fatigue has started to take hold, so I am off to bed for an early night.
    Read more