Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Discovering Kos City

    September 8, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    So arrived early in the morning. I love to experience Islands in the very early morning hours. All is quiet and you few busy people who follow their traditional work. Let’s say, the tourism has not waken up by that time and so it is hard to get a taxi. ;) I managed and got to the Hotel. The cab driver though, tried to pick up as many other people as possible on the drive to the hotel :D something you have to accept.
    Arriving there, the story continued. Tourism still as sleep, so I got to chat with the staff of the Hotel. Well, in greek as much as possible as per my abilities. It worked out well. And once again, I realise that what I‘ve learned in my child ages, is still preserved. It felt so good to experience the real people of the island, so friendly and open heard. And they helped me to get my room way earlier than the standard checkin would. So used the time to get a nap from the ferry journey. Checked a couple of restaurants afterwards, kinda disappointed as most of them serve junk food. Just can’t get why they adopt so much to the tourism and do not stay with their roots. Hey, that’s why we come here. But, I should make better experiences later as I decided to do a quick hop to Kalymnos island just for the evening.
    Read more