Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 7 - Orvieto and Umbria

    August 17, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    ‍‍‍‍‍We left the hotel and headed for Orvieto.  We toured the Cathedral there.  The Cathedral was beautiful inside and out. We were told to plan to take a picture when we met up to head back to the bus around 3 pm.  At that time the sun striking the gold mosaic pieces would make the church glitter. 

    After the tour of the church, John & I toured the Etruscan Museum. The cost was 10 Euros per person. I asked if there was a Senior Rate.  There was a senior rate and it was 3 Euros per person (a savings of 14 Euros).  It does pray to ask.  The Museum was nice, but there was no English translations for the posted explanations.  But, that was not a big deal since most of the artifacts were obvious and I used the Google Translate photo feature to translate what I couldn't figure out.  I was moving faster through the museum than John, so when I finished the museum, I headed to the restaurant and John followed when he finished.  Lunch was another"light" meal with a 1st course of 2 pastas; 2nd course of beef stew, cooked eggplant and zucchini, and potatoes; and for dessert chocolate mousse. 

    At 3 pm, it was cloudy, so the church did not glitter.  So we returned to our bus and headed for the country villa we would be staying at.  After we got our luggage we changed clothes and returned downstairs for a history of the manor followed by a musical recital (very nice).  There it was time to head to the dining room for dinner.  I had a warm mushroom salad; followed by a grilled pork meal with arrugala; for dessert I had a crepe filled with gelato; and, of course prosecco andred and white wine. 

    It had been a long day, so after a shower, I went to bed.
    Read more