Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Kyoto

    October 21, 2014 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    If there was one word I could describe Kyoto with, I would go with "elegant". It is the home of the geisha after all. I'm sure you heard of Gion. Yes, this is where the Gion district lies.

    Maruyama Park had its autumn colours on at the time. That, together with its calm ponds with carp complete the atmosphere. Ah, serenity.

    Plenty of temples to see here. The architecture is divine. Landscaping is an art in the vicinity of the temples.

    The food here, is nothing short of exquisite. Beautifully arranged sashimi with a cup of warm sake. I couldn't ask for more. Well no, I can always eat more. I was lucky to pass by a stall on my way back that sold "Shiratama Dango". These are Japanese sweet rice dumplings on a stick smothered with brown sugar syrup (picture below). There was a long queue but it was worth the wait.

    Lastly, the Kyoto Tower. Its situated near the main train station so you will definitely see it even if you don't plan to.

    Kyoto, in my opinion, is the classy version of Tokyo. Not as crowded but very much alive.
    Read more