Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Hakone

    October 24, 2014 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Renowned by its hot springs, Hakone is mountainous town that offers scenic views of Mt. Fuji, if you are lucky and there is no mist obstructing your vision that is. Sadly for me, I only had a day here and it wasn't a very clear one, so I didn't get to meet Fuji-san.

    I did however get to soak in an onsen. An outdoor onsen might I add. It was a chilly day and the warm water was so welcoming. When in Hakone, you have to experience onsen. Where else in the world are you ever going to soak yourself butt naked in a public bath with total strangers who totally don't acknowledge your presence. No awkward stares! Nothing! Its like you don't exist!

    What is an onsen you ask? It means hot spring in Japanese. However, this term is used for inns and bathing facilities built around natural hot springs.

    Take the Hakone ropeway and experience magnificient sights from up above. You can see Lake Ashinoko or Mt Fuji on a good day. My pictures don't do this place justice as they were taken in the evening after sunset. Nice autumn colours though.

    If you have the time, take a cruise in Lake Ashinoko. You can get some pretty good shots of Mt Fuji from here.

    I didn't get to experience Hakone properly on this trip. Maybe next time.
    Read more