Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Now this is a little bit of alright.

    May 30, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 68 °F

    Weirdly blue water on the right. A surprising unnatural blue like seeing blue tinted contacts in someone’s eyes. Sunburn on my left arm. Rows of condos, brilliant white cubes stacked as they might have tumbled from a hand. Front decks fitted with glass panels and stainless railings. But some sidewalks are unpoured. Careful attention is required to walk along through the gravel and rebar spikes at ankle level. Remodeling contractors dump lumps of concrete and broken tile debris at midnight in the gaps between buildings. That’s what I saw in Split, Croatia.
    The Optika Anda guy is everywhere. Must be what Croatian Cool looks like. I’d add the classic casual wrap around neck scarf but we’re not in Italy anymore.
    I have to mention the roadside memorials I see here. They are always twenty- something boys. I don’t understand the language. I don’t know the why or how for them. For me, I’ve had my own experience. Every time I see one I lose focus on the white line paint that leads me down my side the road.
    A classic Citroen means the French are here. But mostly it’s the Germans in the middle of yet another world invasion. In the campgrounds I share with RVs, it’s usually German I hear out loud. EU vehicle license plates have identifying initials for the country of origin. I’ve seen thousands this trip. Other than the initials for the country I’m in, it is almost always a D for Deutschland or A for Austria. Rains a lot in both places so I’d get out too. Also it’s pretty cheap for to come and stay by the sea in Croatia.
    The other pictures are better landscapes than I deserve, a French friend, campsite pitches and the food that goes with this type of travel.
    Tomorrow I will cut through Dubrovnik as fast as I can. I mostly have trouble with traffic in big cities unless a there’s breakfast pastry that gives me the eye to pull over.
    Read more