Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day 17 - All good things must end

    March 20 in Northern Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    Day 17 - All good things must end…

    08:00
    Not really sure what to do with myself today. My cab to the airport is late tonight - 23:00, but I’ve booked my hotel until tomorrow so I don’t have to worry about checking out by midday. I’d originally planned to hang out at the beach, but after a squiz yesterday, I’m not sure that appeals. A quick run through Tripadvisor’s ‘Things to Do’ in the area reveals a few possibilities. Perhaps I’ll grab a bike for the day and just set off for a bit of an explore. Oooh, there’s quite a few Ayurvedic treatment centres - maybe I’ll get a full body massage…

    11:30
    Well that was unexpected. I have a delightfully light breakfast of a masala omelette and some dhal. Finally, a meal that doesn’t make me anxious to look at it. It’s also fantastic. The omelette has fresh chilli, tomato and coriander in it, as well as some cumin and nigella seed mixed through the eggs. The dhal is (yet) another great example. I can’t wait to get home and cook this for myself. I may even encourage Vicki to try some…

    It’s already 33C though, and the ‘feels-like’ temperature is at 42C. Walking back into the air-conditioned sanctuary that is my room is a fabulous sensation. I lie down on my bed to read while I decide what to do with the rest of my day. Moments later, I wake up after the best part of 2 hours of extra sleep. I’m still gonna try for an afternoon nap to get me through to my 03:00 flight departure, but this is a great little top-up.

    19:30
    Been feeling a bit strange today. Slightly dodgy tum, and just kinda wiped out. Hope it’s just a passing, food-based thing rather than anything more sinister. Utterly standard that it’s come on hours before I have a long, two flight journey home.

    As a result, today’s been a bit of a non-event. Popped out for a wander earlier, and grabbed some lunch. Had a bit of a nap. Just back from a quick snack for dinner. Not much to report really. Soz.

    22:30
    Deffo not feeling 100%. Had ANOTHER nap a while back, so think my body is just in need of rest - from what, I’m not yet sure, but I’ll listen to it.

    All packed up and ready to go. I’m sad to be leaving Sri Lanka, as I’ve fallen in love with this small island nation, but I’m dead excited to be going home to see Vicki, Scout and Gizmo…

    00:00
    That was pretty straightforward. My cab arrives a little early, and I’m at CMB with nearly 4 hours to spare before my 02:55 flight. Happily, the Emirates check-in/bag-drop desks are already open, and by 23:30, I’m through emigration, and in the one and only bar that Colombo Airport offers. The airport’s quiet. Given there’s about 3 big planes leaving within 1/2 hour of each other, I’m a bit stumped as to where everyone is. I wander around for a while to see if I can find them, but no. I have what I realise is going to be my last Lion on Sri Lankan soil until I return with Vicki in two. Having given it such grief at the outset of my trip, I now realise I’m going to miss the little bugger.
    Read more