Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3 One down, one to go

    November 11, 2022 in France ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Day 3 and it’s time for Kat to go home this morning. Luckily we got up before our alarms and Kat had an Uber booked for the trip to the airport. The original plan had been for both of us to go to the airport in the morning. I’d say goodbye to Kat there, pick up my backpack from left luggage, drop both bags at the hotel and head back to the city for the day. Well, as has happened since we got to Paris, things don’t go as planned. Yesterday, I was checking the train times and how long it would take to get to the airport. Timings were about the same as when we arrived but, no B line trains to the airport today. There would be an additional 2 station changes early in the morning, and then a bus. Kat’s bag is heavy due to her dive gear. No way she can be lugging it up and down stairs all over the place. She decided to just suck it up and get an Uber, which she booked last night. I mentioned yesterday how tired we were. Well this was proved out while waiting for the Uber this morning - Kat realized she booked it for 7:50PM, not AM!! Luckily, she had some spare time and was able to get a new booking for 8:30am. Also, she is first class back home so has priority check in and security clearance. Makes a big difference in how long it takes to navigate the airport arrivals process.

    Once Kat had left, I went back to the room for a lovely hot bath!! I have been dying for a bath, for weeks and weeks. It was so lovely to soak in a hot tub! I was not sure what to do about my day now. I didn’t want to go to the airport hotel too early, and I didn’t want to drag my bag around the city. So, I left my bag at the hotel and went on a walking tour of Montmartre. I did do this last time I was in Paris, but each tour is a bit different and I had a lovely time as the guide took us throughout Montmartre and talked about the history, the artists that lived there and the uniqueness of the area. Grabbed a quick lunch after the tour and headed back to the hotel to collect my bag.

    I had fully intended to pick up some lovely truffles for the family, and nice French cheeses for Keith. I stopped in the truffle shop this morning and noted they were open until 7pm. Also stopped at the Fromaggerie and saw they were open until 7pm as well. Perfect as I didn’t want to carry either on my walking tour. When I was headed back to the station, both were closed!!!! No explanation for the truffle shop, but the cheese store did have a note saying they were closing at 1pm in Armistice Day (today) that I had not seen previously. What a bummer!!! I decided not to get macrons instead (as a normal person visiting France would), as I don’t think anyone in my family is keen on them. There goes that idea. 8 weeks away and I am only bringing stuff back for myself 😂 (and a small thing for the grandie’s, from Spain). Probably a first.

    I hopped on the metro, did my 2 changes and caught the bus to the airport. It wasn’t too bad, but I had 1 less change than Kat would have had, and a much smaller and lighter case. Had to pay an extra day for my bag storage, but that’s ok. I struggled with whether or not to even leave it since it was so expensive. But not having to lug it around - especially today since it’s a holiday and transit is really busy - was worth every €€. Including the extra 10€ I had to pay for the extra day today.

    Got to the hotel around 6pm finally and spent the evening organizing my bags, posting and chilling out. It’s been a crazy couple of days! Hoping I can prevail upon the bartender to open my small bottle of Rosé wine. When in France…..
    Read more