Satelit
Tampilkan pada peta
  • Hari 3

    Ollataytambo

    10 April 2018, Peru ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Today was a full day on the itinerary. We ate breakfast and prepared for an 8:00 am departure.

    Our first stop was at the top of a mountain overlooking Cusco; a statue of Jesus, with his arms spread open wide. It was a beautiful view of the city.

    The next stop was a visit to the woman’s weaving coop sponsored by G—Adventures. Here they raised alpaca and llamas for their wool. They gave the group a demonstration of how they wash, dye, spin and weave various items to sell. I was impressed with their knowledge and skill. I purchased a hip type bag from their shop. The money raised here supports the village, like making new buildings and homes.

    Next, we went to a similar village sponsored again by G-Adventures. They demonstrated their clay making skills. I was impressed to see the process they used to making beads, whistles, chess pieces, small bowls and much more. You can tell they work very hard and are skilled crafts-people. They sold their goods in a shop similar to the weavers.

    Afterwards we went to another small town where the tour guide offered our group members the opportunity to try a Peruvian delicacy.....roasted guinea pig (Coy). Some of our group members opted to try it, most didn’t. I didn’t try it. I guess I‘m not that adventurous. Would you have tried it?

    Lunch was next on the road trip. We were spoiled at the G-Adventures camp with a 5 course meal featuring some Peruvian cuisine, like Causa. I also tried the drink made from purple corn called ??? It was very tasty.

    We then drove a little longer to another town where we stopped in at a local resident who demonstrated how they made their corn beer ( ? ). Which we sampled. It wasn’t my favourite beverage but I can see how locals would find it refreshing. To my surprise they also had a what I call a ‘guinea pig hotel’ in their home. They raised these animals for food. There had to be about 20 lf them squawking and playing in their pen. Most of the group was surprised.

    Our final stop of the day was Ollataytambo. I would have preferred to spend a longer time here but unfortunately we didn’t. There were many trails into the mountains that incas uses. They even gave the water system in channels that are still in place from centuries ago bringing water from the mountains down into the valley.

    There’s no doubt about it, today was very busy. We are planning to go as a group to eat dinner but I‘m still full from lunch. A good rest for me tonight!
    Baca selengkapnya