Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Walk til you drop!

    April 22, 2018 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    It was a day full walking. We had breakfast and left around 10:30. Our goal today was the East Side Gallery.

    On our way, we stopped by the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church which are the remainders of a bombed church from WWII. It obviously has been left as a reminder of the horrors of war.

    We also went through a mall that overlooked the Berlin Zoo and we could see some orangoutangs and gorillas. Pretty cool.

    When we finally arrived at the outdoor gallery, we were exhausted from walking. There were many tourists there taking pictures and selfies. Basically, it’s the largest remaining section of the Berlin Wall turned into several murals. It was quite remarkable to see. There are many parts of the city where you see a two brick path identifying where the old Berlin Wall use to be. It zig-zags all over the place. It’s hard to picture a 12 foot wall dividing the city.

    We took the transit back. I’m going to have to try and figure my way around the transit system. Maybe I’ll try that tomorrow. I’ll need a relaxing day to recoup from my walking. I should be documenting my step counts! Ha!!
    Read more