Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Budlin Dound

    April 26, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    Today is a travel day. I’ll be making my way to Dublin. As always, I don’t tend to sleep very well because I’m so worried about missing my flight! Thankfully Peter will be meeting me there today.

    I enjoyed Berlin. It took me a few days to get use to the way things work. Thankfully I had Jason to show me the city and give me tours, ideas and tips.

    Speaking of tips, here are some things to remember when you visit Berlin:

    1) Get a transit pass. I got a 7 day pass and it came in very very handy. This is the most progressive city I’ve been to with a transit system. Buy a ticket from the machine for your trip. Validate it in one of the validation machines. Keep it in your wallet for the duration of your trip. You just walk on and off the buses, trains and subways. You don’t need to scan your card, go through annoying turn-styles or get transfer tickets. It’s all on the honour system. If you get stopped by one of the transit officers you’ll need to present your validated ticket or you will get a fine!! I haven’t been stopped.

    2) Don’t be afraid to explore. There are lots of cool things to see and do. I find the best way is just to walk. Remember to download an offline version of google maps of Berlin. You won’t need to connect to the internet and it will keep you from getting lost.

    3) Ask for help. Locals are quite friendly and helpful. Most speak English and are willing to guide you in the right direction.

    4) Don’t over do it. When traveling, it’s natural to want to do EVERYTHING. Be realistic. Personally, I would just Tackle 2 or 3 things you want to see and do for each day you travel. Set your budget and stick to it. It is so easy to get caught up in the ‘I’m here right now, I may as well do it.’

    Hopefully Dublin will be just as easy to navigate, plenty of sites to see and foods to try.

    I’m beginning to hate being in airports. It’s lines, waiting and more waiting. I have a few more flights to go so hopefully I can hang in till the end.

    Finally I’ve arrived. Peter arrived as well. We walked around and went for an early dinner. I didn’t eat since this morning so I was famished. Tomorrow we have a free day to explore Dublin.

    Adventure time!
    Read more