Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54–56

    Konya 2 days after

    November 9, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    So I first didnt know what Konya was about. It seems to be modern and traditional, young and old, and somehow hard to get a grasp of for me. Well, the market is best on Saturday's, young people play board- or dicegames while drinking tea, and it's a mix of modern and tradition. Including women — I always thought they were seen to be less in some way due to islamic beliefs, but this is false. This is much more emancipated than in small villages which is cool to see. Its like a modern traditional turkish city.

    I also will not make a comparison with other cities, and just leave Konya as that: a busy and very lively market, and the city of the whirling dervishes (sufi islam). I also got to see them after having missed the building yesterday: the music is amazing. The spinning... Yeah, if it brings you closer to God, go for it.

    On friday I went to a mall in town with a decathlon and five football stores next to each other, and after looking for a long time I found a bikeshop with a lot of knowledge and modern stuff. They even had sealant and schwalbe tires! (Felt like a big deal to me in turkey) The city actually does a lot for cyclists, except the bikes that people ride look like they would fall apart with any curb or reasonably sized pothole.

    Two or mosques were especially interesting: one because it has baroque elements; and one because it is from 13th century I believe. But I don't know much about architecture.

    I had a haircut at 9pm, and they also give you a full facial wash. Pretty nice. Maybe I should start caring about my hygiene like turkish people do. (Well, a bath in ankara is not out of the question.)

    Birkenstocks also got a three euro repair, so tomorrow Im off to the caravanseray, volcano lake, and fairy chimneys.
    Read more