Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 91

    Jump in the river

    December 29, 2017 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Towards the end of the ride, the guide took us to a rock on the side of the river from where we had an amazing view of the surroundings and the river below was deep enough to jump in and swim. The fall was about 4 mts and I had never learnt to jump dive. The guide gave some instructions on how to have the hands when jumping. It was scary looking down 4 mts into the river. Half the group chickened out. I too was tempted to walk down but then thought this would be the most appropriate moment to overcome my fear of heights. So, off I went into the air. All the instructions etc were forgotten the moment the feet left the rock. The arms were flailing all over. The next thing I remember was hitting the river water and going down deep below for what seemed to be an eternity. It was in fact a few seconds before the head popped out of the water and I started swimming towards the shore. What a morning we had.
    After the rafting, we had some snacks and hot tea and coffee.
    Read more