Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Dramatic day at D’Orsay

    June 8, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Bonjour!

    Today was yet another long one (and hasn’t even ended).

    First, I woke up. Second, I went to class. Third, I grabbed a baguette with ham and cheese. And fourth, I went back to the hotel.
    Now here is where it gets interesting.

    Our pysch class planned to go to D’Orsay, but that was a little more difficult than expected. The metro we were on seemingly shut down. We sat there for a while and contemplated our options. Eventually, we decided to take a different metro to a different stop and catch a different train on the same line we were trying to ride. We arrived, the metro arrived, we boarded, and then the metro stopped. After some French announcements over the loudspeakers, no one moved so neither did we. Eventually, the metro started moving. Thank the lord.

    The rest of the day was much smoother. I really enjoined the museum and had a lot of fun looking at all the different art. My favorite art was probably Monet’s. I love his use of color and texture to create images; it’s different than other art I’ve seen. A lot of his art used Ariel perspective to create depth. Instead of using haze or shadows to add contrast, he simply changes the colors that he uses. This can be seen in the bridge painting where the space behind the bridge is much darker. The tour was ended with some gelato (and wine), shopping, and a much more successful metro home.

    Now, I am tired. Super tired. Not sure what my dinner plans so I shall see where the night takes me.

    Au revoir!
    Read more