Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Corso Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour

    August 9, 2022 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 27 °C

    You can't drink water from the faucet here. Had a quick shower in Alba BNB and off to dinner.
    Trying to get a reservation this late was tough but we managed to find an opening in one of the 2 places a friend of Giorgia, Dani's sister, recommended.
    Before sitting down for dinner we went to the supermarket to buy some water and cookies in case we had to get up earlier than expected. I volunteered to go back to the car and leave our groceries there when I suddenly saw the moon over the port.
    I smiled, what can I say? In the end, ports are a part of my life, water, boats, the Caribbean lives inside of me.
    Couldn't help thinking about my dad, mixing "what ifs" in my head, something that happens quite often after 1 of the 2 humans responsible for you being on this Earth passes away.
    On the way back we walked some more, and what do you know? The posters we saw earlier on the boat were right there for sale!
    I got so excited I promised to go back but in the meantime we had some dinner.
    The food was great because #Italy, had some white wine called Vento di Mare and some amazing pasta.
    On the way back we went back to the artist's stall when I heard Dani said: I love the illustration of this old man, it's Hemingway said the artist's partner. I almost cried, my father's favorite book, a full circle moment!
    I asked her for the artist's signature and she promised me that tomorrow she would have it ready for me.
    Overall, it was a really cool day, stomach full, happy to be out of Madrid with Dani in Dani's island 🏝️.
    Life is good, here's to you, dad.
    Read more