Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day at the sea

    August 10, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    When you wake up knowing that you'll spend the entire day at sea, you have to wake up smiling, right?
    We had a quick breakfast and walked all the way to the fishermen's port for a boat ride around the island on a boat.
    A boat that made you think of Jaws immediately, ready to go as soon as we stepped inside the vessel.
    The crew was made up of 2 men, captain Giuseppe and driver Luca. Both looked exactly how you imagine them, sea men.
    They are always tanned, give shirt answers, and always stare at the sea while they talk to you.
    Grew up in Cancun, I should know.
    The boat was just what I needed.
    The sound of the boat hitting the water, the engine plowing through the waves, it was a mix between the sounds of my childhood and a present that reminds me of how far away I'm from all of this, from water, I keep forgetting this.
    Rock formations, snorkeling, tiny stingrays and even an even tinier octopus, all part of a gorgeous day that I'll remember forever.
    If you think those are enough reasons to consider this day a success, you forget that we're in Italy.
    Oh, the lunch, the lunch was amazing.
    Carloforte is known for its tuna, but if you didn't know this you could easily discover it, since it's pretty much everywhere. We even had tuna heart!
    Overall the routine of swimming, drying under the sun and jumping in the water again without any sand interaction is a gift, this is the way to do a beach day, sweet water hose included.
    Sun tanned and tired, the day ended with a good shower and a downtown stroll.
    We went back in time in a pizza restaurant called Pizzeria da Gisa, had a Fainé made with chickpea flour, delicious.
    And guess what? I picked up my signed illustration by Molinastra! Now I can frame it and hang it above my Dad's autographed baseball.
    Tomorrow we head back, will probably chill since more beaches after an entire day swimming is not that appealing.
    But, just what I needed, a great start for this summer's Italian getaway.
    Read more