Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Ribs, fried chicken and Montgomery

    October 29, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Ar the memorial I asked the guard at the metal detector for some food recommendations. When Dani is hungry you only have a few minutes before the bomb explodes.
    His first suggestion was an Italian restaurant: nope.
    Second suggestion? Mexican. Nope.
    I felt the need to interrupt.. how bout some local food?
    Oh, in that case, Southern Delight.
    Thank you, sir!
    I bet it's gonna be fried chicken, I told Dani and I wasn't wrong.
    In the middle of a parking lot mall this place stood like an oasis. The line was long but the vibe of this restaurant just made you smile.
    Like an old cafeteria you just moved along the line picking and choosing, first your main meal, then the 2 sides.
    Ribs, mashed potatoes with gravy and yams for me, fried chicken, mashed potatoes without gravy and yams for Dani.
    The plate was loaded and we didn't make it.
    We spent so much time in the Museum that we had to skip Birmingham but that didn't mean the Montgomery visit was over.
    We went to Hank Williams's grave to pay tribute to Luke, the creator of Cold, cold, heart. You could drive up to the grave and not leave your car, genius.
    Then I wanted to see the First Confederate White House, just to remind myself that crappy ideas with terrible leaders in charge can actually go a long way (job sequels).
    Montgomery is a city that has so many ghosts roaming around and open wounds in areas that used to be slave cells or slave auctions.
    But having some ribs while I heard everyone laughing and enjoying a nice meal rekindled the hope I felt earlier and reassured me once again that human beings are capable of loving, we just have to be careful and stay together.
    Read more