Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Cairo II

    July 19, 2019 in Egypt ⋅ 32 °C

    I woke up and got ready for the day ahead, I took an Uber to the Giza Necropolis to see the pyramids, I bought a ticket and tried to pass off as a student with my ID which was quite successful in Greece but this time with not much success. Seeing the pyramids in person after seeing them so much as a child was quite surreal. They were huge, and just amazing. I was walking around the perimeter until somebody called my attention, I had thought I was in a place that I wasn’t supposed to and he started telling me that he was a government official and showed me his ID and invited me for a “free” tour. I already had my doubts but since he said it was free, off I went. He did take me to a variety of places, I got to go inside one of the pyramids and saw this huge boat, and there were lots of interesting ruins as well. Now, there were camels and he said I could ride them but I didn’t want to because I knew it wasn’t going to be free but he insisted it was part of the tour. As I got on it, he took a photo of me and asked me for 300 Egyptian pounds and there was no way I was going to pay that, so we argued until he settled for 50 pounds and as I walked away he did hurl some curse words at me. Still, the photos were good. I went to find the Sphinx as well, being approached my a lot of other scammers.

    I also visited the Egyptian museum after. I tried taking public transportation but ended up getting lost so I took an Uber motorbike instead. It was amazing really, all those artifacts, mummies and ruins but I was getting more sick, so I did a speed run instead and went straight home to rest. I had the same food for a couple of days without refrigeration even, which I’m sure was super unhealthy but I was just trying to survive at that point as I started to get sore throat and a fever.
    Read more