Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Moray

    April 30, 2021 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Here comes the fun part, after Sacred Valley, we had to do a horse trek. We went to the stables and picked ourselves some Peruvian Paso horses. My horse's name was Siete Macho, the 7 warriors. I'd like to think we had a good connection, everytime I spoke his ears would puck up towards me. He knew how to follow directions and I quickly got the hang of riding. It was a long ride that span several hours. We crossed huge spans of land and got to see the different type of landscapes with the Andean mountains surrounding us. It was such a great day. We passed through some towns and had to climb up mountains, even encountering some traffic problems with other shepherds and their animals. There were times when I had to go down my horse to guide it through tough corners and cross rivers.

    Our main destination was to see Moray, an Incan agricultural laboratory built through several layers of ground. Each layer had different temperature to try out different seeds. It was an ancient marvel. Afterwards, we went to a nearby restaurant to fill our bellies up, I found myself unable to eat much still and Mario explained to me that this was due to the high altitude slowing down digestion. Peruvians themselves don't eat too much at night. I was bouncing full when I got on the horse again, it was quite uncomfortable but it did help with the digestion. It was another long way back to the stables that took a few more hours and the way back was not as fun as I was starting to feel a bit uncomfortable between my legs, sitting on the saddle for too long. Eventually, we did get back and I said good bye to the ranch owner and my horse.
    Read more