Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Salineras de Maras

    April 30, 2021 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    The last stop was the salt mines of Maras. It was actually also pretty far away but I enjoyed the car ride as it was a much welcome reprieve from horse back riding the whole day. The salt mines were better than I expected, the landscape was simply out of this world. Mario explained to me that the salt mines were pretty much owned by different farmers. I was also getting a bit angsty as I had to meet with Salkantay Trekking to get my briefing for the hike the next day. While I was a bit late, I was able to find their office and get a briefing on what lies ahead. On the way back to my hostel, I picked up some insect repellant just in case. It was going to be a big day, the reason I came to Peru and I knew I wouldn't get much sleep still since I have been having problems adjusting to it, notwithstanding the fact that we had to wake up super early in the wee hours. I steeled my resolve.Read more