Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Sacsayhuamán

    May 5, 2021 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I had to drag my feet off of my bed when I realized I had to do more exploring today even though I had just finished four day trek. I tried to get some shut eye but still woke up a bit early. I decided to have some lunch before going ruin hopping. I had one of the most delicious meals in Cusco in the Avocado and Toast restaurant, easily the best meal I've had so far throughout the whole trip. I then booked a cab to Sacsayhuaman, an ancient Inca ruin. I unfortunately went the wrong way and went up immediately without getting some good shots of the forefront, the views were nice and amazing but when I realized I couldn't turn back, it was too late much to my disagreement with the guards. I went around the other side of the ruins and found me another cab who would take me all around the Incan circuit and back to Cusco. While Sacsayhuaman was the main highlight, we visited several other ruins in Qenko, Tambomachay and Pukapukara. Each of them quite unique but at the same time, there really wasn't much left though the water ruins of Tambomachay was quite interesting. He then took me to a small zoo featuring a lot of the Peruvian fauna such as the alpaca, llama, guanaco, vicuna and guinea pigs. It was connected to a shop that had a lot of vicuna products and the fur itself was out of this world. We took another stop at the white Christ statue, similar to the one in Rio de Janeiro and another far view of Sacsayhuaman before I was dropped at Cusco once again. Here, I went to a pizza parlor and I have no idea why I always over order but I had a lasagna and pizza. I couldn't finish the lasagna and had it packed to take home to which I gave to one of the hostel staff. All in all, it was a very relaxing and chill day, I watched the Kimetsu no Yaiba movie afterwards before going to bed.Read more