Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Blustery Day at Coco Cay

    March 7, 2022 on the Bahamas ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Coco Cay is a private island owned by Royal Caribbean, located north of Nassau. It has a water park, ziplines, a big tower thing, bars, restaurants, beaches, and all things Caribbean and beachy. Even the braid ladies.

    Our plan was to snorkel. We packed up our stuff, schlepped over to the island, and proceeded to find the snorkel station for information. Too bad for us. It was too windy to snorkel.

    Wayne went over to a bar area in search of conch chowder (there wasn't any.) I planned to meet him, but didn't see him. I stayed put for over an hour, and then discovered he was 15 feet away from me on the other side of a bunch of bushes. 🤷‍♀️

    After lunch, we went to lounge on the beach for awhile before returning to the ship for some iced coffee and snack at Park Cafe.

    Dinner appetizer was puff pastry with seafood for me, and escargot for W. We both had the most unusual interpretation of beef stroganoff we'd experienced, featuring peppers, pickles, celery, a slight amount of gravy, served over linguine. (I don't recommend it. Ever.) Dessert was Bananas Foster for me, and Chocolate Mousse cake for W. Both winners.

    I ended the night by watching the Aqua 80 show. Wow. It was a compilation of dancing, gymnastics, aerial stuff, high wire, synchronized swimming, high diving, and loud music. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    And so to bed.
    Read more