Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Bar Harbor

    October 8, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Ugh- I wrote a large entry- and it got lost in space🙄. So here I go again.

    We went to get tender tickets, and ended up with group 40. After breakfast in Windjammer, we waited in the Spotlight lounge for our group to be called
    We had a nice, large ferry which was much easier for those whose mobility was challenged. (Thankfully, not us).

    The other ships anchored on the harbor was Silver Sea Silver Whisper. It carries 440 passengers compared with our 2700+.

    We walked around Bar Harbor- a lovely town- lots of gift shops, cafés and ice cream stores. We ran into Parker's on the Go outside Walgreens, where I stopped to get a bottle of water.

    Our excursion took us to a lobster feast- major yum! And I was able to assist my table mates in the fine art of getting to the inside of the lobster. That was followed by a trip through Acadia National Park-- beautiful, and I would love to go back.

    We were too tired, and not hungry enough to go to the dining room, so headed to the Windjammer to see what the Royal Caribbean test kitchen had to offer. We saw the "beef stroganoff" (bearing no resemblance to any similarly named fish I've ever experienced. There were "dumplings" that had some cinnamon flavor, and clunked when dropped on the plate. There were several other "winners.". I had a couple of chunks of curried lamb which were pretty good.

    And then to bed
    Read more