Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Day & Night: Bertels Thorvaldsens

    June 6, 2022 in Iceland ⋅ ⛅ 45 °F

    Many headstones in Isafjordur, Iceland's historic burial ground feature bas relief medallions with designs originally created by the Danish sculptor Bertels Thorvaldsens.

    The medallions are simply called "Day" and "Night." "Day" depicts an angel dropping flower petal blessings while ascending to Heaven with a babe in arms. "Night" is similar, only this time the angel is accompanied on her flight by an owl.

    I've seen reproductions of Thorvaldsens' famous designs in various cemeteries around the world, but Isafjordur has the highest concentration I've ever seen in one place.

    Yesterday, however, I bumped into Bertels Thorvaldensens’ work again. This time in Akureyri, where I saw a beautiful marble baptismal in the local church. When I looked at the base, I saw his name.

    For context, I should mention that Thorvaldsens was a contemporary of famed architect Antonio Canova, so he lived in the late 1700s-ish. (If you read my Sunday newsletter, then you may remember the photos and article I shared about the fabulously symbol-laden pyramid in Venice that houses Canova’s heart.)

    Later this year, Lar and I will visit Thorvaldsens' hometown of Copenhagen, Denmark. I look forward to learning more about his life, funerary sculptures, and connection to Iceland.
    Read more