Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Western Wall

    January 18, 2023 in Palestine ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    I’d always heard the “Western Wall” referred to as the “Wailing Wall" but today I learned that many Jews consider that a derogatory term.

    So, “Western Wall” it is!

    The Western Wall is the most religious site in the world for Jewish people. The wall is the last remnant of an ancient temple and can be found in the Old City of Jerusalem.

    The Western Wall is also sacred in Islam. According to their tradition, the Prophet Muhammed tethered his winged horse, Buraq, on the Wall after his miraculous night flight from Mecca to Jerusalem.

    No matter what your religious beliefs may be, all people all welcome to pray here. Men pray on one side, and women on the other.

    I’m not sure what the fountain is for. I think some folks wash their hands before praying.

    Many visitors tuck a note into crevices along the wall. I felt inspired to do so during my visit.

    From time to time, these notes are collected and then buried on the Mount of Olives according to a Jewish ritual.
    Read more