Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Book Machine

    January 18, 2023 in Palestine ⋅ ☀️ 57 °F

    We reached the Western Wall by entering Jerusalem’s Old City through the Dung Gate. As the name implies, this gate was once an area used for trash.

    We left the Western Wall through the Damascus Gate, which led us into a tunnel.

    Along the way, I saw a book vending machine. For a price, you could buy a variety of religious texts.

    They also had a spot where you could look down to see the Roman Era streets. I was surprised how built up the modern streets were in this area.

    Our guide explained that this varies widely. In some parts of the Old City, you still walk along the actual ancient Roman streets. In others, the streets have been built up over the centuries.

    I was also intrigued by a “scarf return station.” Women who forgot to bring scarves to cover their heads can return borrowed ones here.

    If we’d had more time, I would have enjoyed stopping for a treat at the cafe I saw in the tunnel.. I bet it’s especially nice to relax there on a hot summer day.
    Read more