Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    La Digue Swimming

    February 9, 2023 on the Seychelles ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    We visited two granite islands in the Seychelles: Praslin and La Digue. Praslin is quite mountainous, while La Digue is very flat.

    On La Digue, a class of school kids came out to greet our catamaran. They were so cute!

    So many blues and greens to enjoy here!

    We visited La Union Estate, where a group of large tortoises have been imported from the Aldabra Atoll.

    The tortoises we saw were brought here for tourists to enjoy, but the ones remaining on the Aldabra Atoll live in peace because it’s a nature preserve.

    We were allowed to feed them, but most were pretty sated already.

    Afterwards, we visited a beach with dramatic granite outcroppings. Larry stayed in the shade while I swam with my new canine friend (the one I wrote about in another post.)

    I wish I’d had swim goggles, because I found the perfect spot to float and watch schools of brightly colored fish. They seemed to regard me as a bit of scenery and were swimming through my legs and by my arms.

    There was a rocky reef protecting the area, as well. Our guide said this discourages sharks from entering the bay where we swam.

    On the walk back to our open air tram, we saw and heard many beautiful birds. It was truly a taste of paradise!
    Read more