Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Impala for Lunch

    February 22, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    After a nearly four hour game drive, we enjoyed a splendid lunch back at Sibuya Game Reserve.

    Barbecued impala was featured on the menu along with a lovely pumpkin and garbanzo bean salad and fresh baked bread.

    The chef was excited when he heard Larry and I are from Texas. “Aha!” he exclaimed. “The land of barbecue! Let me know what you think.”

    I told him it was the best impala I’d ever had, while Larry made some joke about how he’d once had an Impala, but then he got a Belair. (Luckily, the man got it. It took me a minute!)

    The whole meal was a treat. We washed it all down with a glass of Sibuya’s own red wine and some rooibos tea. (I drink rooibos all the time at home, but it only grows in South Africa, so I was excited to have some here.)
    Read more