Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 20

    Hakodate Wanderings

    18 oktober 2023, Japan ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    With a population of roughly 240,000, Hakodate is the third largest city on the island of Hokkaido. Even so, it feels more like a sleepy fishing village than a big city.

    Larry and I spent hours wandering through shopping streets and neighborhoods, and were surprised by how quiet it was. Often the main sounds were fluttering leaves and ravens cawing.

    Hakodate is known for its seafood, and the local mascot is a squid. Like other Japanese cities, the manhole covers are decorative, with some of them painted.

    I’m not a big cantaloupe fan, but the local melons look quite tasty. I was especially intrigued by an ice cream sundae featuring the fruit!

    Many streets in Hakodate are quite steep. Each of these slopes, as they are called, has a name. By the time we reached the top of one, I had stripped down to my t shirt.

    While waiting to cross the street, an elderly woman grabbed my bare arms and began rubbing them while laughing and talking a mile a minute in Japanese.

    I had no idea what she was saying, although it seemed like she was surprised I wasn’t cold.

    I find it so endearing that she felt comfortable enough to come up and touch a complete stranger. Her demeanor was so kindly. It felt like being admonished by a long lost grandmother.

    I wish I knew more than “please” and “thank you” in Japanese. I would have liked to chat with her more.
    Läs mer