Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Larry’s Spa Day

    November 8, 2023 on the Philippines ⋅ 🌩️ 82 °F

    When you book a trip to a tropical paradise, you don’t see rainy day photos on the travel agent’s website, but rainy days happen.

    Not only is it raining here in Puerto Princesa, but the wind kicked up enough to bump the ship 4 1/2 feet off the dock. They even had to close the gangway for a bit!

    Lar and I wound up at the SM Mall where he enjoyed an impromptu spa day: two women gave him a shampoo, head and neck massage, and a very meticulous haircut.

    As he put it, “They fussed over me for an hour. I loved it!”

    Grand total? Five dollars! (He tipped well, too, of course.)

    As for me, I stopped by the stationery store and bought some much needed tape for my scrapbook. Whoo hoo!

    Best of all: we found the cutest travel Scrabble! It’s even smaller than the one I forgot to pack.

    All in all, a relaxing and fruitful rainy day here in paradise!
    Read more