Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Tahiti Flower Market

    February 10 in French Polynesia ⋅ 🌧 81 °F

    One of my favorite memories from our visit to Papeete in 2019, was visiting the fresh flower market. Not only did I enjoy the fresh fruit and flowers, but I liked seeing that it caters to locals as well as tourists.

    Just like last time, I was eager to buy a headband made of real flowers. Not only does it look beautiful and make me feel like a tropical princess, but it smells divine.

    Locals wear these pretty headbands, too, not just tourists like me. The guy we bought mine from gave Larry a tiare blossom and instructed him to wear it behind his left ear to show that he is taken.

    On the other hand (or should I say ear?) flowers worn behind the right ear signal that you are single and looking to mingle. I saw locals wearing them on both sides throughout the day.

    Before we reboarded the ship, I nabbed a few tiare blossoms that folks had discarded. My leftover coconut makes a handy vase, and our cabin smells wonderful.
    Read more