Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Waverly Cemetery

    February 23 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 90 °F

    Sydney’s Waverly Cemetery is a beautiful burial ground overlooking the sea. Although filled with Victorian and Edwardian monuments, it’s an active cemetery, and still receives new burials.

    I never found out what type of lizards the street sign refers to, but apparently they cross the road by Waverly’s front gate.

    We spent several hours wandering up and down and all around. It was hard to choose which photos to share here.

    One of my favorite monuments depicts an angel with butterfly wings. I was quite intrigued by a monument to a young man who, as the epitaph explained, died during a circus stunt in which he dove into a bucket from a great height.

    Afterwards, we found a cafe nearby and enjoyed some delicious iced espresso. Hailing a cab turned into quite a challenge, however, so we lingered longer than planned.

    My Uber app wouldn’t work, and when I called for a cab, I got an automated menu that wanted me to input an Australian phone number. We tried waving down a few passing cabs, but none of them stopped.

    I finally managed to get a human on the end of the phone (which was an international call) and book a cab. Phew! We enjoy walking, but that would have been a bit too much.
    Read more