Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Ushaka Sealand Aquarium

    April 2 in South Africa ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Larry and I have visited aquariums all over the world, but Durban’s may well be my favorite!

    The tanks at UShaka Sealife Aquarium are located in a rusty old ship, and the decor inside makes you feel like you’re at sea. There’s even a spot where you can peek in and see all the machinery required to keep the tanks working.

    The screens offer info appropriate for all ages, so everyone can learn here. The “Local is Lekker” sign made me laugh. “Lekker” is Dutch for tasty. I was able to understand much of the Afrikaans signage due to its Dutch foundations.

    My favorite aquarium exhibit was “The Parlor” which featured a chandelier over a table set for a tea party. Gorgeous lionfish waft through the tank. At times, it looked as though they were part of the chandelier.

    I have mixed feelings about captive cetaceans, but we watched the dolphin show anyway. All in all, we enjoyed our time at Ushaka Sealife Aquarium, and we felt safe there, as well, which is a prime concern in South Africa.

    You can even go snorkeling here, which came as a surprise when we suddenly saw swimmers inside the display tanks! If we’re ever in Durban again, I’d like to try that.
    Read more