Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Zabaldika to Puente la Reina

    September 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Matt teamed up with me and we launched down the hill to Pamplona. In town we had a quick stop as we devoured a fantastic sour dough baguette and some pastries.

    We set of to the pass del Perdon in the full sun. Wind turbines overhead milling at speed looking for Don Quixote to poke them in his fancies.

    In Obanos folks were wearing their traditional Basque white with red bandanas for the week long fiesta. Tonight is the bull run and we choose to stay in Puenta la Reina and missed a fabulous albergue, next time I'll use the Gronze app! Had to the hike back 3k for the fiesta in flip flops, we got pinned down in Obanos by rain and then a hail storm, but escaped in the only 15 minute clearing.

    I stressed the front of my shins just above the ankle in the process though and that would become the start of my "Camino adjustment".
    Read more