Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    The way back Fis-Stgo

    September 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Fisterra, the end of the known world in the middle ages. I left some more cares on the rocky ledges of this cape.

    Under darkness I got away early, chased by clouds and drizzle. In Cee I find a wonderful cafe serving mini churros with the coffee so I had to have another. Properly energized I rode up to the intersection where people have to pick Muxia or Fisterra. I met one of the Dutch cyclist again and we talked for a while. Heleen left her house out the front door in Haarlem, the city nearby where I grew up, and rode her city bike with a small electric assist all the way to Fisterra. That's a pretty good feat, but Heleen is in her 70s and she is very adventurous.

    A bit later in the lunch cafe I got great intel on the Camino Portugues from an Irish hipster. That group was alive and great fun.

    I'm feeling good after the shorter days. Matt already made it to Santiago, I'm staying 8km out of Santiago at Case do Boi. It's the nicest albergue in Spain imho. It's my second time here. I talked Matt into coming over, so we'll have a nice reunion dinner.

    I think reconnecting with Carla and Eric also has really high probability at the end of the Portugues.

    Matt made it and we invited the winning to sit with us for dinner and it was a riot and time of great laughter. When you put the right people together it gets really great.
    Read more