Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6–9

    Flores lagoas

    October 12, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    I get a late start as I am trying to figure out how many more days shall I stay. I get my laundry in and need to return the rental car, so I get another one that's cheaper for the next 3 days. Still plenty of hiking to do here.

    The lakes in the crater are a good choice for today as the weather is clear up high. The trail is really muddy though and suddenly the late night is catching up to me and I'm good for a midday nap.

    I high tail it to Ponta Delgada and find a kids play ground with the safety mats that make a good rest spot. About 15 women between 60 and 80 were having a party at the picnic tables. I take my shoes of and give them a chance to start drying out and I rest.

    Overall a pretty mellow day, I change out the car, drive back to the pink and make dinner, talk with ... and a plan comes together for tomorrow with Alfredo to hike from Cedros.

    I have clean laundry, a full belly, ready to go to bed but I should have a look at a flight and hostel on Sao Miguel, but I can't keep my eyes open.
    Read more