Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Long drive to AZ

    November 3, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    I drove away from Crested Butte in the evening as I was not able to sleep and figured I would sleep in the car on the way down which is what I usually do because I really like driving at night.

    I took two naps along the way for about an hour each and drove on after a good cup of coffee in the morning all the way down to Flying Diamond airpark where I arrived at sunset. The sunset drone flight is a nice start for getting started making this land mine. There is work to do, but the course is action and the timing of it are uncertain.

    I called the building department of Pima county and found out that I need a permit for the no permit required shed after all. You don't need a permit to add the shed if the main residence already exists. This is different than I was told at first. Apparently it depends on who you talk to. Now I will need an RV permit as that will cost less than building a 1500 square foot house.

    Why can't you just do what you want to do? Build a 500 sqft tiny home? I'll start with the hangar then and maybe a bigger shed/tiny home since I'll need a permit anyway.
    Read more