Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Fifth day at Wocnis'

    November 10, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    I slept a bit better. The room has a weird vibe that I can't figure out but it keeps me from peaceful sleep. Coffee, sit and chat in the morning sun. The conversation between these long time locals of Crested Butte tends to revert to old time memories. My history there only goes back 27 years and I learn a more about life back in the 70s in that little town.

    Ken makes fantastic breakfast burritos for lunch. His bike is fixed so the bunch goes on another 2 hour outing to Tucson. Quick Walmart and pot store for Sandy. Basically we're spinning, just waiting to play music and hanging out. I try to be productive with my shed permit but I'm at a stand still. I'm looking at some RVs in case I will need one to satisfy the county. I hang in the hammock and finish reading my book. I never read and I'm getting used to sitting still and having time to do this.

    Ken takes us to Saguaro National Park West where we ride our bikes in the morning so Sandy and Ethan can see it. It's way more fun on a bicycle. That's how it is, life is better on two wheels than on four.

    It's Friday night, our music night, and we play a session but it's cold out and it's over too soon. The acoustics are more difficult outside. However, I did completely lock in with Ken and that is a first and it's exciting. By 8 we're snacking in the kitchen on pizza and other items. I eat too much again. Off to bed early.

    The Picture Rocks neighborhood is a back water on the other side of the western range that borders Tucson. The land is flat and there are not many views. The nearest food store is 25 minutes away just like it is for my location. There are a lot of planes flying overhead. This is the corridor I'll be using too as it avoids the jet traffic on the other side of the range. I get more used to Tucson and surroundings and it starts to become clear that I picked a pretty decent place as my foothold in the area, and I have friends here.
    Read more