Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Fourth day at Wocnis'

    November 9, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Ken and I set off for another bike ride, early one and it is colder than last time. I actually wear two T-shirts and a wind jacket. The desert can be chilly. We ride, stop and drink coffee, talk, and go to the another stop, this is a special spot. On the way back we have the rare sighting of a Bobcat in broad day light. Wow.

    Back at Wocnis' Ethan and Sandy are jonesing to go to lunch. We barely take a break and all four are in my little Honda again. We try the stock yard cafe but it is closed so we go to the more upscale Bisbee Breakfast Club. The conversation is all about the old west and the experiences of the grandfather's of Ethan and Ken. Gun fights and other wild west stories.

    I try to call the Pima county building department again, but I can't get through.

    I spend some of the afternoon in the hammock I set up in the back between two trees. I'm starting to see how I'll be spending my afternoons in Arizona...

    After I get through, I start on the documents required for a zoning permit that will allow me to have my non permitted, ie non inspected shed, recorded in the Pima county documents. I'm finding that flood control is a powerful department in AZ county government. Ken is running into issues with them with his accessories.

    No music for Bob tonight, but the others didn't rally so we skipped it and sat in the kitchen talking with the heat on. AZ cold snap.

    Cherakauwa national monument is a place to visit in South Eastern AZ per Wocnis' for the CCC work done there.
    Read more