Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 5

    Dirtwork, camp serenity

    4 décembre 2023, États Unis ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Another post that covers 5 days.

    As I'm spending time on my land I'm realizing just how incredibly peaceful it is over here. It's not just that it's silent, it's also a certain vibe of being in nature, being safe in my own spot. It's also very nice and sunny during the day and warm. The nights are cold but I'm snug as a bug in my bag. It feels good to be here even though I am not doing all the activities sportswise that I normally do. But I still have that cold. So I am content to just settle in do a few little things take a rest do a couple more and move the needle forward very gently. This is not at all my style, this is completely new.

    There are so many details that still need to be taken care of for getting this build off the ground. A few more trips to the supply stores, a few more changes of the items, and a lot of driving around picking up this small thing and that small thing. All in all it is not very efficient because of the distances to drive and because I keep thinking of new tools and supplies.

    My cold is hardly going away, my energy levels are okay for short verse but I can definitely feel a deep loss of energy and I'm not sure how it's going to go for building this thing. Whatever is inhabiting me is definitely having a field day and my body is having a hard time kicking it. I am sleeping 11 hours a night 5 days in a row.

    I had to go all the way to the other part of town to pick up windows. Today is one of those days we're absolutely nothing comes together, half of an order, the wrong order, the post office refusing my return box, and my best friends losing one of their closest most intimate best friend.

    The latter puts everything into perspective. I was fine with the difficult day, just muddling through. Patty passed away very suddenly this morning. And it's absolutely devastating to Chuck and Kathy. She was very close to them both socially and in business. It is yet another reminder of how suddenly we can no longer be here. It's easy to say carpe diem and it's defined differently for each of us. Being in the present and enjoying every moment no matter what you are actually engaged in is for me the best I can do. It's not necessarily about the best trip or the best activity all the time. It's more subtle.

    And it's not always sunshine it can rain pretty darn good too.
    En savoir plus