Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day 6 roof framing and extras

    December 14, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 8 °C

    Got some more roof framing done, the roof is more complicated than anticipated. I am using asphalt under coating below a cap sheet, it's a first for me. I had a hard time getting a small metal roof order and this looked promising.

    But since I am using a radiant barrier sheathing it doesn't make sense to put black tar on the shiny barrier. So I re-engineered it with a second layer and down strips underneath for airflow. I changed our the 2 inch foam for 1 inch so I stay under 12ft.

    That required another trip in the evening to Lowe's to bring back more things and also pick up more things. The trailer is turning out to be very useful.

    I got a few hours of roof work done in the morning, but then it got to be a little too heavy and too much for me. So I shifted to some of the other items that needed to get done such as the house wrap.

    I did manage to wack a staple right through my left index finger which was a surprise and used up some more of my first aid kit.
    Read more