Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Climbing to temple 12

    March 16 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    Today is a little tricky because of the lodging situation. I check out and get on the road early walking over to the youth hostel for tonight. I dropped my bag there and I managed to also check in. So I'm all set and I hike with a light pack.

    I set off through a few fields to Temple 11 from where the path goes up steeply to Temple 12. It is around 4500 total vertical so it's quite the workout which I welcome. I run into Ed from London again.

    On the way down from Temple 12 I meet a couple of younger Japanese folks that knew a little English and it turned out that was very fortunate as we ended up taking the bus together from Kamiyama to Tokushima. Satochi
    runs a small food truck, he is an amicable older man with a story that he displays via a QR code. He has had his financial tribulations and it's working of 11 million yen debt with his food truck. He has a good spirit.

    Getting a train ticket usually goes well. But at this small station I couldn't quite make out what do, so I showed a picture of where I want to go to two teenage girls to help me. They were very lovely and giggling, they wanted a picture with me and they also did the funny face waving thing Oliver does with his phone. Across the world teenagers are the same and connected.

    Two long days hiking and one small blister, Fantastic hike today through the woods, brilliant weather,
    Read more