Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    White Sand Heaven

    March 21, 2016 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Watamu beach, why have I just now discovered you!? The sand is whiter then I thought possible for sand, it squeaks under our every step. The water is clear and blue. It's a bunch of coves, so there's maybe 2-3 resorts on this beach, not enough to be oversized or touristy. A beautiful little cove of heaven. We got here around 5pm, just enough time for a short beach walk and watching the sunset with a beer, sand under our toes. We liked the place so much, we ended up having dinner there too, coconut rice and prawns while hearing the water coming in and out. 

    Jack has been doing quite well with eating meat, you just get a glimpse of her vegetarian ways when there's too much ... realistic animal imagery. Like eating beef off of bones, not a fan. Getting the chicken off the bones, same. Getting served a full fish with head, not good. So in these times, I usually do it for her. So debone the fish and chicken and just hand her the meat, like a baby bird! Well the prawns from our dinner came intact. I had seen it plenty of times before, but not Jack. Once she saw the eyes, she was done for. I, of course, prepped them, took the shell and the head and tail off, yet she still needed a little convincing to eat it. My little tree hugger.

    As sad as it is to only spend the one night in Watamu, I know we'll get plenty more beach time. On to Mombasa! Second biggest city in Kenya, big ports. That's what I know.
    Read more