Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Rest Day in Angers

    September 25, 2019 in France ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    When you are involved in an extended ride, there is something sacrosanct about designated "rest days". They are in fact, so special that riders eagerly count down to the next one. As the much anticipated day draws closer, team members share their plans for the day of freedom.

    "I might go and see a chateau, but I probably won't"
    "I need to catch up on washing my putrid clothes"
    "I plan to sleep until lunchtime"
    "I am not going to do a single thing"

    And so on it goes.

    After our long and tiring day getting into Angers, I must admit that I had no ambitious plans. I had been in this city twice before and I was perfectly happy to enjoy a stress free and almost totall relaxing day.

    There was however, one task that just had to be done - the washing. Fortunately we located a lovely modern coin laundry only a few hundred metres from the hotel and spebt an hour there watching the clothing go round and round. It was completely boring, but somehow therapeutic at the same time. When I returned to the hotel with two bulging bags of freshly washed gear, I felt like a load had lifted from my shoulders.

    Maggie went in search of her own Holy Grail - a hairdresser. In France such establishments are known by the somewhat flambouyant title of "Institute of Beauty". Some time later she returned to the room, announcing that she had found a suitable beauty institute who would cut her hair and only charge a small fortune for the privelege.

    There were several modern looking boulangeries near the hotel and we decided that it was time for lunch. We both chose the "Croc Monsieur" . This is just a fancy name for a hame and cheese toasted sandwich. They might have been nice if they had been heated up even a little. After a few mouthfuls of the cold, stodgy cheese, we left most of the lunch on the plate and walked away feeling very disappointed.

    Another thing that is common in the vicinity of our hotel is organised Gypsy beggars. Within the same block as the hotel we discovered no fewer than 4 of these, each one with their location carefully allocated by their overseer. They all had the same type of handwritten sign, imploring for money. This was the first time on our current trip that we had seen this type of professional begging, and it did not leave a favourable impression of the city.

    In the late afternoon Maggie went off to the Institute of Beauty and returned some time later with both her head and her wallet considerably lighter.

    Our evening meal had been arranged at the lovely La Ferme restaurant. We had eaten here on our previous ride on the Loire and we had all loved the place. I am pleased to say that we enjoyed our 2019 meal almost as much as we had loved our 2015 meal. It was a nice way to finish our short stay in Angers, but I was already to move on again.
    Read more